Club History

Laragh United club was formed in 1973 by the amalgamation of two clubs; Laragh (Junior) and Stradone (Intermediate). In 1972 these clubs joined forces for the Senior Championship as a group team called St. Brigid’s. They reached the final and were beaten by the great ‘seven in a row’ Crosserlough team. 

Reaching that final in 1972 had a great effect on the parish. The officers and players of both clubs in their wisdom could see that no rural parish could hope to run two separate and successful football clubs, so they decided unanimously to amalgamate both clubs under the chairmanship of Fr. Michael McManus C.C. Frank Reilly was appointed secretary. In 1973 the new club was affiliated as Laragh United and entered in the Senior and Junior competitions.

The new club made remarkable progress initially in underage competitions under the guidance of Dermot King and his selectors. Competitions won included, three U-16 leagues, three Minor leagues, three Minor championships (group team with our neighbours Lavey). Schoolboy teams in the parish were looked after by Master Vincent Crotty N.T. The club’s record in Senior, Junior and U-21’s is excellent. The club won many U-21 and Junior championships. 

The Senior League competition was won on Five occasions. In 1979 Laragh Utd. won their first Senior championship by defeating Crosserlough in the final. This was a major achievement for a club that had only been in existence for six years. Laragh Utd. went on to win the Senior championship in 1982, 1983 and 1984. The 1984 final was played in Ballyconnell, as this was the Centenary year of the G.A.A. In the same year, Laragh Utd won the Ulster 7-a-side competition. This competition was played to celebrate the Centenary year. In recent years, Laragh Utd. has not had much success at Senior Level, but great progress has been made and under-age level. The club won the U-12 league in 2002 and was narrowly beaten by Belturbet in the U-13 championship.
The club has always provided players to the Cavan County teams, the most notable being Adge King, Jimmy Carroll, Matt Rudden, Ray Cullivan, Donal Donohoe, Fionan McDonagh, John Brady, Patrick Sheils and Paul Brady. In 1997, Patrick and Paul both won Ulster Senior championship medals with Cavan. In 1996 Paul Brady was a member of the Cavan U21 team that won the Ulster U21 championship and he went on play in the U21 All Ireland Final against Kerry in Semple Stadium, Thurles.
Donal Donohue was a selector in both 1996 and 1997 when Cavan captured both these Ulster titles.