Match Reports‎ > ‎

ACFL Division 3 Butlersbridge V Laragh 10/04/16

posted 11 Apr 2016, 03:57 by Laragh Utd PRO
Laragh travelled to Butlersbridge on Sunday last for the second round of the ACFL division 3. On a dry, bright and very windy day Jimmy Galligan (Lacken) got this game underway. It was a nervy opening 5 minutes with both sides making mistakes before Liam Canning opened the bridge account with a point. And it would be another 5 minutes before the Laragh captain; Ruairi Power got their first score, a point. Butlersbridge were kicking into a strong wind toward the village end and missed several chances. Both sides exchanged points before Colm McKenna hit the back of the Butlersbridge net with force. Laragh continued to build on this with Paddy Rudden splitting the posts. Laragh were in control at this stage and having been awarded free in their own half took it quickly and lost the ball, the Bridge then moved the ball forward and with a mix up in the Laragh back line Darren Fitzpatrick got a goal. Ruairi Power slotted a free over the bar before the half time whistle went.

Half time score Butlersbridge 1-04 Laragh 1-06.

The second half started off much the same as the first ended with Laragh’s Eoin Donohoe getting a point. Laragh were now kicking into the wind and had a few wides before Johnaton Leddy kicked a point from a free to keep Butlersbridge in touch. With Laragh’s mid fielder Shane O’Rourke playing at his best, Laragh was winning the mid field battle and tagged over points from Paddy Rudden and Sean Tierney. The Bridge however kept fighting and was rewarded with a point from the returning Lorcan Mulvey. But Laragh held firm and with a point from wing half back Kieran Cooney sealed the win. This was an entertaining game in which Jimmy Galligan let both teams play free flowing football.

Full time score Butlersbridge 1-10 Laragh 1-14.

Butlersbridge: Gareth Henry, Declan Callaghan, Patrick Flynn, Carlos Conlon 0-01, John Fitzpatrick, Andrew McConnell, Darren Fitzpatrick 1-00, Lorcan Mulvey 0-01, Peter Conaty 0-01, Shane O’Rourke, Johnaton Leddy 0-05(5f), Killian Leddy 0-01, Liam Canning 0-01, Padraig O’Reilly, John Shannon.

Laragh: Fergal O’Rourke, Philip Fitzsimmons, Fergal McKenna, Jason Rahill, Jason Walsh, Ian Leddy, Kieran Cooney 0-01, Shane O’Rourke, Eoin Donohoe 0-01, Cian O’Rourke 0-01, Ruairi Power 0-05 (2f), Colm McKenna 1-01, Sean Tierney 0-01, Paddy Rudden 0-04, Conor O’Rourke. Subs used Conal Donohoe, Declan Brady.

Ref: Jimmy Galligan, Lacken.