Match Reports‎ > ‎

Breffni League Div 2 Semi Final

posted 5 Oct 2015, 05:38 by Laragh Utd PRO

Laragh Utd. 0-13 

Butlersbridge 1-9

Butlersbridge qualified for the Div 2 Final of the Breffni League where they will play Shercock with a narrow one point win over Laragh, played in ideal conditions at Drumalee on Saturday.

It was the 6th min when Jason Walsh opened the scoring with a Laragh point. Jonathon Leddys equaliser a minute later set the tone for the first half when it was score for score up to half time. Points from Paddy Rudden, Oisin Carolan and two Liam McKenna scores brought Laraghs total to 0-5 while Jonathon Leddy (2) and 3 points from Caoimhin O’Reilly had Butlersbridge leading 0-6 to 0-5 at the break.

Butlersbridge were the better side early in the second half. Points from Shane O’Rourke (2), Caoimhin O’Reilly (2) and Fergal Flannagan to Laraghs solitary Oisin Carolan point, had the winners leading 0-11 to 0-6 after 15 mins. Liam McKenna and Jonathon Leddy scored frees and an Eoin Donohoe point made it 0-12 to 0-8. In the 22nd min Shane O’Rourke got through for a Laragh goal after good movement and when Liam McKenna pointed the game was level, with 4 mins to go. In the 28th min right half back Carlos Conlon came up field and kicked the winning point.

Overall the general apathy towards the Breffni League was very evident as neither team reached great heights in their quest for victory.

Butlersbridge: Stephen Murphy, Andy McConnell, Paddy Flynn, Kiernan Greenan, Carlos Conlon (0-1), Noel McPhillips, Declan Callaghan, Martin Fitzpatrick, Peter Conaty, Shane O’Rourke (0-2), Caoimhin O’Reilly (0-5),  Darren Fitzpatrick, Fergal Flanagan (0-1), Jonathon Leddy (0-4), Killian Leddy. 

Subs: Kevin Connolly, Cahir Reilly, Liam Canning.

Laragh: Joe Donohoe, Ciaran Cooney, Kieran Donohoe, Jason Rahill, Eoin Donohoe (0-1), Colm McKenna, Declan King, Shane O’Rourke (1-0), Derek Hand, Jason Walsh (0-1), Gerry Murray, Oisin Carolan (0-2), Sean Tierney, Liam McKenna (0-4), Patrick Rudden (0-1). 

Subs: Cian O’Rourke, Phil Fitzsimons, Seamus Cooney, Darren Brady, Fergal McKenna.

Referee: Padraig Sheridan (Ballymachugh)