Match Reports‎ > ‎

D.T.One U21 championship Division 1 Quarter Final.

posted 14 Nov 2016, 04:54 by Laragh Utd PRO
With play under way Castlerahan seen the first chance of the game go wide off the boot of Cormac Daly. Laragh won the kick out and headed straight for goal where in the crowded box Laragh won a penalty. Sean Tierney took the kick and put the ball over the bar. Eoghan Cooney and Kieran Cooney followed with points before Conor O’Rourke pointed for Laragh from a free. It was 12 minutes into the game before Shane Reilly opened Castlerahan’s account with a well a pointed free. But Laragh kept the pressure on and by the 15 minute of the first half were four points ahead when full forward Liam McKenna added to their tally. Karl Cosgrove cut the deficit by a point but Laragh were relentless and when Sean Tierney found a opening he made no mistake and found the back of the net.  Castlerahan were finding it hard to get passed the Laragh back line with Fergal McKenna and Jason Rahill in top form, but they got the last two points of the half when Redmond Egan got on the end of a good pass and then Daire McEnroe from a free. And that brought to an end the first half which was a hard hitting half.

Half Time Score Laragh  1-09 Castlerahan 0-04.

With the second half underway Laragh continued where they had left off with points from Conor O’Rourke and Jack McKenna.  The game was starting to get a bit feisty  and Castlerahan  lost Aaron Reilly to a black card. Daire McEnroe put two points on the score board before Castlerahan  had Gavin Daly sent to the line when he received a black card having already been on a yellow so were now down to 14 men. With both teams hitting hard and following a melee Sean Tierney received a yellow card for his part in it. However  Castlerahan got another hammer blow when their influential mid  fielder Cormac Daly received a black card having already been on a yellow and so they were now down to 13 men.  Laragh pushed on with points from Eoghan Cooney , lee Reilly and Liam McKenna before Ryan Brady got the last for score of the game for Castlerahan.

Full Time Score Laragh 1-17 Castlerahan 0-08.

Laragh: Joe O’Donoghue, Jason Rahill, Fergal McKenna, Stephen Cooney, Kieran Cooney(0-01), Cian Carolan, Ian Leddy, Oisin Carolan(0-01), Eoin Donoghue(0-01), Sean Tierney(1-01), Jason Walsh, Raymond Lackey, Conor O’Rourke(0-05), Liam McKenna(0-02), Eoghan Cooney(0-03). Subs: Paul Smith, Lee Reilly(0-01), Jack McKenna(0-02), Peter Donnelly.

Castlerahan: Aaron Cornell, Paul Brady, Keith Fitzsimons, Jamie Reilly, Ryan Farrelly, Ryan Egan, Gavin Daly, Cormac Daly, Shane Reilly(0-01), Redmond Egan(0-01), Jamie McGrath, Aaron Reilly, Cormac Lynch, Daire McEnroe(0-04), Karl Cosgrove(0-01). Subs: Ryan Brady(0-01), Ian Foy.

Referee: Mickey Lee.