Match Reports‎ > ‎

Laragh overcome Templeport

posted 2 Jul 2012, 04:48 by Unknown user   [ updated 2 Jul 2012, 05:06 ]
Laragh -v- Templeport
Saturday 30
th June 2012

St Aiden’s Park Templeport was the venue for Laragh and Templeports meeting for the second time this season in their division 3 league campaigns after taking the points in the first encounter the Laragh side would have to fight hard to take the reward the second time round. The way the game started would have also suggested this, with Templeport winning the ball from the throw up and half forward Liam Gilligan kicking wide of the post.  The Laragh side then responded on the next attack but again Laraghs Adrian Cooney kicking wide. The strong crossfield wind had a major influence over both teams and took them time to adjust. It was the 6th minute before the Laragh side got into attack mode again with Colin Mc Kenna winning the ball from a kick out who found Adrian Cooney powering through the centre laying off to Paddy Rudden who kicked a fantastic goal into the bottom corner of the Templeport net. Celebrations were short lived as Templeports midfielder Donal Maguire worked hard to win the ball from the kick out and laid off to half forward Micheal Gilligan, Maguire continued to run through the centre and got the ball again on the run to hit the back of the Laragh net without breaking his stride a fantastic goal with great momentum for the Templeport side. Laragh got the next two scores of the game with points coming from Conal Donohoe and Ruairí Power. Both teams worked hard in defence especially in the half full back lines keeping attackers out of the danger zone and forwards had to work hard for whatever scores they got. Templeports Lasse Morgenrath can verify this as the full forward worked extremely hard breaking through some hard tackles and running through to score a second goal for the Templeport side. Corner forward Eoghan Martin took from his lead scoring a third goal for the Templeport side in the next play of the game catching a high ball kicked in from midfielder Danny Ball and finding the back of the net in one swift turn. Laraghs full forward Gerry Murray made way for Ruairí Powers second of the match giving a fantastic pass to Power running through. Both teams exchanged again before the break with Templeports Ben Kiernan hitting over an accurate shot from 30 metres out in the 24th minute and Laraghs Adrian Cooney hitting over a fantastic score from the left, 45metres out in the 29th minute with Laraghs midfielder Shane O Rourke working hard at midfield winning a lot of ball setting him up for this score.  This left the teams going into the break Templeport 3-01 to Laraghs 1-04

Templeport came out in the second half in a burst of energy with two points on the trot coming of Ben Kiernan and Lasse Morgenrath who put in a great effort over the 6o minutes covering every inch of the pitch. However Laragh lifted momentum and brought themselves back into the game an accurate ball kicked in by Enda Cullivan caught well by Conal Donohoe ended in the back of the Templeport net.  Laragh really got into the game at this point with points coming of Colin Mc Kenna, Conal Donohoe again whom scored the point of the game a shot 45 metres out from a difficult angle against the wind, Paddy Rudden  and Adrian Cooney.  Donohoe who had a great game got another massive score for the Laragh side a high ball from a difficult angle. Shane O Rourke took Laraghs next score in a great effort winning the ball at midfield from the kick out laying off to Colin Mc Kenna running through and taking the ball back to kick over the bar. Laraghs last score of the game came when an Adrian Cooney shot was blocked down and the quick hands of Paddy Rudden picked it up and shot a great point on the run over the bar. Templeport ended the game this time a free, kicked over by the capable Dylan Maguire. Final score Laragh 2-11 to Templeport 3-04.

Laragh Utd: M Smith, B Cullivan, D Brady, P Smith, D King, S Cooney, L Brady, S O Rourke, E Cullivan, A Cooney, P Rudden, C Mc Kenna, R Power, G Murray, C Donohoe, Subs C Donohoe for P Smith, P Fitzmons for L Brady, C O Rourke for R Power, N Smith for G Murray.

Templeport:D Donohoe, B Kelly, M Ball, O Duffy, J Rudden, M Dolan, S Doonan , D Ball, D Maguire, L Gilligan, M Baxter, M Gilligan, B Kiernan  Morgenrath, E Martin