Match Reports‎ > ‎

Untitled PostSpring League Division 3 Semi Final Cornafean v Laragh United 15/05/2016

posted 16 May 2016, 03:34 by Laragh Utd PRO

Lacken GAA were the hosts on Sunday last of the Riverfront Hotel division 3 spring league semi final between Cornafean and Laragh United. And it was Laragh who got the better start with points from Ruairi Power (2) and Sean Tierney before Paddy Rudden found the back of the net to leave the score Laragh United 1-03 to no score with 5 minutes played. Cornafean who were winning the mid field battle kicked two wides before a long ball in from Andrew Wharton drop in to the Laragh net and it was game on. Jack Wharton then got a brace of points to leave 1 in it. Both sides exchanged wides before both tagged on a couple of points to leave 1 in it at the break.

Half time score   Cornafean 1-04   Laragh United 1-05

With the second half under way Laragh put the pressure on and had 2 or 3 chances in front of goal, the best of which was a kick off the boot of Declan Brady which dropped short and in to the hands of Rory Geoghegan.  Cornafean however took their chances and were rewarded with points from Jack Wharton and the two wing forwards, Pauric Tully and Aiden McCaffery to leave them now two points ahead. With both side working hard Declan Brady and Conor Sheridan exchanged points before Declan Brady again had a chance in front of goal and this time made no mistake when the ball came in he palmed it to the back of the net.  Cornafean replied with a point from Niall Sheridan before Paddy Rudden levelled the game once more. Cornafean pushed hard to find the winner but the Laragh backs worked extremely hard and Fergal McKenna in particular letting nothing pass them. And with time running out Ruairi Power and Paddy Rudden split the posts for Laragh to give them a two point win. Laragh will now play Killinkere in the Final over the coming weekend.

Full time score    Cornafean 1-10   Laragh United 2-09.

Cornafean: Rory Geogehegan, Paul Brady, Jason Miney, Daniel Cullivan, Conor Sheridan 0-01, Mark Johnston, Pauric Woods, Niall Sheridan 0-01, Jack Wharton 0-04, Andrew Smith, Andrew Wharton 1-00, Cormac Geogehegan, Pauric Tully 0-01 (1f), Liam Duignan 0-01, Aiden McCaffery 0-02. Subs: Brian Sheridan.

Laragh United: Joe O’Donoghue, Phil Fitzsimmons, Fergal McKenna, Jason Rahill, Seamus Cooney, Ian Leddy, Kieran Cooney, Shane O’Rourke, Eoin Donohoe, Jack McKenna, Ruairi Power 0-03 (1f), Colm McKenna 0-01, Declan Brady 1-01, Paddy Rudden 1-03(1F), Sean Tierney 0-01. Subs: Cian O’Rourke, Stephen Cooney.

Referee: Mickey Lee.