News‎ > ‎

Laragh do double over Wast Cavan side

posted 11 Jul 2011, 02:49 by Unknown user   [ updated 19 Jul 2011, 04:13 ]
Laragh Utd 0-16
Templeport 1-5
Laragh United kept their push for promotion on track when they defeated Templeport in PJ Duke Park, Stradone on Saturday evening in this ACFL Division 3 encounter and thus completing the double over the West Cavan side.
Laragh United had to start without their regular full back Colm Hand due to injury but in young Shane O Rourke they had a very adequate replacement. Both he and centre back Colm McKenna had fine games.
The home team were dominant for large parts of this contest against a gallant Templeport side that battled all the way to the finish.
Paddy Rudden was again in brilliant scoring form notching up 8 points. Templeport had the first score of the game with a Sean Murphy point but only managed one more point for the rest of the half. Once Liam Brady kicked the first of his 3 points in the 5th minute his side dominated the rest of the half. They added 8 more points before the break to give them a 0-9 to 0-2 lead at the short whistle. Rudden with 4 points lead the way but he got good support from Liam Brady, Cian O Rourke and Declan King with Colin Oates and Enda Cullivan also putting in a very good shift at midfield.  Michael Galligan was the only other scorer for the losers during the first half.
The second period was much the same fare with Paddy Rudden adding 2 early points to stretch the lead to 0-11 to 0-2. They added further points from Colm McKenna, and another Rudden effort with Donal Maguire replying to leave 10 points between the teams after 10 minutes. At this point Martin Joe Smith had replaced Declan Brady and Conall Donohue in for Colin Oates.
The winners kicked for home at this stage and landed 3 more points from Paddy Rudden, Liam Brady and sub Conal Donohue. Templeport to their credit never gave up and were rewarded with a goal near the finish by Lassai Morgenrath to finish the scoring.
This was a fine team performance by the home side and sets them up for important fixtures in both the league and championship over the next month. Like wise for Templeport they will be focussing on their preparation for a serious tilt on the Junior Championship.

Laragh Utd: Martin Smith. Barry Cullivan, Shane O'Rourke, Enda Clarke. Declan Brady, Colm McKenna (0-1), Liam Brady (0-3). Enda Cullivan, Colin Oates. Declan King (0-1), Darragh Brady, Adrian Cooney. Cian O Rourke (0-1), Paddy Rudden (0-8), Seamus Cooney (0-1).

Subs: Martin Joe Smith for Declan Brady. Conal Donohue (0-1) for Colin Oates. David Reilly for Adrian Cooney. Phil Fitzimons for Liam Brady.

Templeport: Danial Shannon. Garret Bannon, Sean Dolan, Stephen Doonan. Martin Dolan, Lassai Morgenroth (1-0), Martin Ball. Danny Ball, Killian Smith. Michael Galligan (0-1), Jim Kiernan, Sean Murphy (0-1). Ciaran McKiernan, Donal Maguire (0-2), Seamus MacAweeney.

Sub used: Declan Farrell (0-1)


Referee: Ciaran McCarville (Cootehill)